Expandmenu Shrunk


 About NCAEA

Mission Statement

“To promote and improve the quality of art education in the state of North Carolina.

NCAEA will focus on three broad categories to accomplish its goals: LEADERSHIP, SERVICE and ORGANIZATION.”

NCAEA is an active advocate for promoting visual arts education in public and private schools K-12, higher education, museums, arts centers, arts councils, and across the state.

The association embraces members from public and private schools, Pre-K- educators at institutions of higher education, museums, and community arts education programs. It aims to provide and stimulate professional participation and leadership development by promoting knowledge of and the production of the arts, and by promoting sound methods and philosophies for teaching art. The association provides an important forum for group study and discussion of the issues concerning arts education in our state. It included membership categories for arts educators in the following areas: elementary, middle level, secondary, supervision/administration, higher education, student, museum, and retired art educators.

History of the Organization

The North Carolina Art Education Association was formed in the mid-1960′s by members of the art sections of the North Carolina Education Association and the North Carolina Teachers Association. This new group met in general session on March 27th 1965, after electing its charter officers. The first constitution of the association was finally accepted and received in April of 1970. The organization has continued to grow and change, striving to meet the needs of North Carolina’s arts educators. A more complete history compiled by Frances Crimm and Dr Perry Kelly, 1991, is on file in the Archives Division at Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, North Carolina.


2013 NCAEA Board 2013 Plan of Action

NCAEA Committees 2014

2012 Constitution and Bylaws

NCAEA History of Presidents

2014 NCAEA
2013 Plan of
NCAEA 2014
 2013 NCAEA
Constitution and
NCAEA History
of Presidents
NCAEA Home Page







Regions The state is divided into 8 regions with a coordinator in each region. Links to news and coordinator contact for your region can be found below these county listings.Region One
Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell and WashingtonRegion Two
Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson and WayneRegion Three
Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Halifax, Johnston, Nash, Northampton, Vance, Wake, Warren and WilsonRegion Four
Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Robeson and ScotlandRegion Five
Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Forsyth, Guilford, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham and StokesRegion Six
Anson, Cabarrus, Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Stanly and UnionRegion Seven
Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Davie, Iredell, Rowan, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes and YadkinRegion Eight
Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania and Yancey

Comments are closed.